Puerto Rico is a Caribbean Island located about a thousand miles southeast of Miami between the Dominican Republic and the U. S. Virgin Islands. It is roughly 100 by 35 miles with a population of about 3.8 million people. Puerto Rico is a territory of the United States of America and we have common citizenship, currency and defense. Although Puerto Ricans are U.S. citizens, residents of Puerto Rico do not pay federal income tax (but neither can they vote in presidential elections). Over 2 million Puerto Ricans live in the United States, primarily in the northeast.